Uncategorized

Get Involved: National Human Trafficking Awareness Week

January 26 – February 1 has been declared National Human Trafficking Awareness Week in NC by our governor! Click here if you are interested in learning more!

The membership of the Junior League of Charlotte voted in March, 2012 to adopt the following position statement and public stand against human trafficking.

WHAT CAN YOU DO TO TAKE ACTION?

Youth 4 Abolition, Prevention Program, is reaching out to North Carolina residents asking them to help get NC House Bill 855 – Human Trafficking, considered by the NC Senate Judiciary Committee in the upcoming 2014 Short Session of the NC General Assembly. Click here to read more about HB855.

NC House Bill 855 addresses several important issues dealing with human trafficking. There is strong interest in the sections of HB855 that address the need to get curriculum and training materials in to our high schools and middle schools.

Please contact our local law makers and ask them to consider HB855 in the 2014 Short Session. Below is a list of all the members of the committee to contact. HB855 meets the criteria for consideration under the adjournment criteria.

2014 North Carolina Senate Judiciary Committee Members

Co-Chairman:

Senator Thom Goolsby (Rep) – District 9 – New Hanover

Thom.Goolsby@ncleg.net     (910) 763-3339

Co-Chairman:

Senator E. S. (Buck) Newton (Rep) – District 11 – Johnston, Nash, Wilson

Buck.Newton@ncleg.net    (919) 715-3030

Members:

1. Senator Tom Apodaca (Rep) – District 48 – Buncombe, Henderson, Transylvania

Tom.Apodaca@ncleg.net   (919) 733-5745

2. Senator Tamara Barringer (Rep) – District 17 – Wake

Tamara.Barringer@ncleg.net  (919) 733-5653

3. Senator Dan Blue (Dem) – District 14 – Wake

Dan.Blue@ncleg.net  (919) 733-5752

4. Senator Harry Brown (Rep) – District 6 – Jones, Onslow

Harry.Brown@ncleg.net   (919) 715-3034

5. Senator Daniel G. Clodfelter (Dem) – District 37 –  Mecklenburg

Daniel.Clodfelter@ncleg.net   (919) 715-8331

6. Senator Kathy Harrington (Rep) – District 43 – Gaston

Kathy.Harrington@ncleg.net   (919) 733-5734

7. Senator Clark Jenkins (Dem) – District 3 – Bertie, Chowan, Edgecombe, Hertford, Martin, Northampton, Tyrrell, Washington

Clark.Jenkins@ncleg.net   (919) 715-3040

8. Senator Martin L. Nesbitt, Jr. (Dem) – District 49 – Buncombe

Martin.Nesbitt@ncleg.net   (919) 715-3001

9. Senator Earline W. Parmon (Dem) – District 32 – Forsyth

Earline.Parmon@ncleg.net   (919) 733-5620

10. Senator Bob Rucho (Rep) – District 39 – Mecklenburg

Bob.Rucho@ncleg.net   (919) 733-5655

11. Senator Norman W. Sanderson (Rep) – District 2 – Carteret, Craven, Pamlico

Norman.Sanderson@ncleg.net   (919) 733-5706

12. Senator Dan Soucek (Rep) – District 45 – Alleghany, Ashe, Avery, Caldwell, Watauga

Dan.Soucek@ncleg.net   (919) 733-5742

13. Senator Josh Stein (Dem) – District 16 – Wake

Josh.Stein@ncleg.net   (919) 715-6400

14. Senator Jerry W. Tillman (Rep) – District 29 –   Moore, Randolph

Jerry.Tillman@ncleg.net   (919) 733-5870

15.  Senator Trudy Wade (Rep) – District 27 – Guilford

Trudy.Wade@ncleg.net   (919) 733-5856

Reference:  NC House Bill 855 – Human Trafficking , unanimously passed in the 2013 NC House and was sent to NC Senate Judiciary Committee on May 16, 2013.